Resolutions and 2012


Okay! A new year and new promises (which are much stronger than resolutions, I think). I WILL blog regularly. At least once a week. So watch out! Here I come!

Update on my reading: Visiting friends in St. Louis a while back, I bought a paperback book in the Lewis and Clark Museum (located right near the Arch). What a find! The title is “Incidents in the life of a Slave Girl”. Written by Harriet Jacobs (a former slave) and published originally in Boston in 1861, it was reprinted by Dover publications in 2001. This is a powerful recording of one of the darkest periods of our history. I think it’s a must-read for all of us. Look it up at http://www.doverpublications.com.

I got a new Touch Kindle for Christmas! It took some focused training to really use it, but I’m getting the hang of it now. Anyway, my first two books I’ve read on it prove that good reading does not necessarily have to be from the latest best seller list.

“Brunswick Gardens” by Anne Perry is an old publication, one of her Thomas and Charlotte Pitt (husband and wife) series. Set in Victorian England, this story was a conglomerate of mystery, of course, but also murder, romance, drama, and a course in that period’s history. An interesting, study in realistic characters.

Today, I just finished reading Lee Child’s book, “61 Hours”. Now that I’ve finished it, I believe it’s the last of a series of books with Michael Reacher as the very dynamic, very knowledgeable about tough-guy stuff main character. If this were made into a movie, I wouldn’t watch it. It’s that tense, raw, and downright nervous. (But then, I’m a real pansy.) But it’s an excellent plot, carried out with superb writing, and with all its demands on my nervous system, I could not put my Kindle down.

I’m going back and read more of both these authors. Hope you do, too.

Leave a Reply

