Reading


Boy! I have some catching up to do here on my reading list!

An excellent and funny YA read is Vivian Vande Velde’s “The Rumpelstiltskin Problem.” Vande Velde once again has applied her wonderful sense of humor and creative genius to this retelling of the classic folk tale–several times! It’s fun and the ingenuity is impressive.

Previously, I wrote about my reading “Silent Witness” by Richard North Patterson. This time, I read his “Dark Lady”, which I soon discovered is a follow-up to “Silent Witness”. Follow-up, only in the sense that its protagonist is the same prosecutor as was in Witness. Otherwise, different story, different people. But the same quality writing, the same drama, and the same page-turning suspense.

“Second Glance”, another of Jodi Picoult’s, I read with a good deal of frowning and questioning. The book has to do with ghosts–lots of them and lots of strange happenings attributed to them. I very definitely believe in the ability of people from “the other side” to communicate with the living, but Picoult pushed the credibility gauge a wee bit too much for me. Still, her writing skill developed a great story.

I just finished reading “The Elegance of the Hedgehog” by Muriel Barbery. It’s on the NY Times bestseller list and I can only reason that it’s because people want to be associated with the intellectual pomposity driving the book until the very last few chapters. THEN, there’s a story. That part is moving and interesting.

I’ll try to be more diligent in keeping my reading current. I believe it’s always helpful to have someone suggest books to read.

Leave a Reply

